After going to a great tapas restaurant when on holiday in Frankfurt, I decided I needed to try out some of the dishes. So recreated them for my other half and myself one Saturday night.

Started off with a recipe I saw on the Tod Sisters Instagram page, peach white wine sangria. Basically white wine and peach juice over ice, mint leaves and citrus fruit, lengthened with some soda water. So refreshing on a sunny day! 

The dish I was desperate to recreate was dates wrapped in Parma ham, hadn’t had these before and don’t know why. Unbelievably tasty and addictive. Salt and sweet is always a winning combination. And simple to make on the George.

Another dish I had found online was for aubergine crisps. Basically thin slices of aubergine in flour, then deep fried, and drizzled with honey. Yum!

I also made the classics, chorizo in red wine, buttery garlic mushrooms, and chilli prawns. All simple to make. Chorizo is fried briefly to release the oils then red wine added and left to gentle simmer. For the garlic mushrooms heat up plenty butter, then add finely chopped garlic and sliced up mushrooms. And for the prawns heat some olive oil then add the prawns and plenty of sliced up chilli. And cook prawns for a couple of minutes on each side. 

And bought in a Spanish tortilla (cheating I know, will need to make myself soon but was short on time) and a couple of sides to pick at, olives, roasted peppers, and artichoke.

Plus some goats cheese and chutney to finish it off! With some Rioja. 

Perfect, although excessive dinner. 

